Synopsis

Boom vs bust, the first half of the title is an area that I feel that can be explored in an interesting manner, as it has affected countries worldwide, the economy, large and small businesses, and everyone as an individual mentally, emotionally and physically.

Design vs lust, is the other half, which relates to how people buy, how buying habits change, if they did change and what they desire and lust for during this period of boom and bust.

It is not necessary about answering questions or exploring a problem, it is more about how factors and behaviours have changed over this period of time; why? What is changed and how it will benefit or not benefit them.

I am confident more pointers will arise during my discussion of the doomed word, which many businesses and employees suffered, called recession. But here is the argument, is the recession really a doomed period?

In terms of strategy, my intended plan is to follow a Gantt chart, which will indicate many     strategies for me to follow. For my research I intend to approach large and small firms to gain information on how they were affected by the recession. Over the summer, I gained work experience with an external supplier working with Marks and Spencer for two weeks and couple of months with another firm working on sustainability and organic foods, Happy Kitchen. Once I have gained data from these two firms, it will give me the opportunity to compare methods, techniques and what the difference is in terms of actions, liability and behaviour between a large firm compared to a small firm.

In terms of strategy, my intended plan is to follow a Gantt chart, which will indicate many     strategies for me to follow. For my research I intend to approach large and small firms to gain information on how they were affected by the recession. Over the summer, I gained work experience with an external supplier working with Marks and Spencer for two weeks and couple of months with another firm working on sustainability and organic foods, Happy Kitchen. Once I have gained data from these two firms, it will give me the opportunity to compare methods, techniques and what the difference is in terms of actions, liability and behaviour between a large firm compared to a small firm.

The direction my research has taken me down many routes regarding what I can write my dissertation on. Referring back to my original intentions, I wanted to research the Great Depression linking to World War II and then the recent recession and how it has affected many other disciplines within the design industry, such as fashion, graphics, architecture and so forth. Where I am now with my choice of research for my dissertation is a good position, as I can explore many things, which will gain my interest, and benefit me to acknowledge myself and develop my understandings further.

Currently I have not found any information that is entirely new, but when discussing my topic with my tutor, we have agreed that the recession is not always a negative factor to the economy, there are many positive reasons to why a business can ‘boom’ from a recession.

In order for me to gain the necessary information I will be conducting interviews, questionnaires, observing the necessary and to follow my Gantt chart, which will help me keep on track with what tasks I need to complete in the time period I have given myself.

It is quite difficult to speculate my outcome of my research, as it could be completely different from what I expect.  Currently I am expecting companies to say ‘yes we have suffered from the        recession’, but the answer lies behind the ‘affect’ of the recession. How did their target audience react to such times and what did the firm do in order to keep their consumers?

Currently there have been no disappointments or problems in the working methods that I have encountered, however I may expect companies to be resilient to sharing certain information, which maybe confidential, if this is the case I must be aware of how I am asking certain questions and how I imply them.

The main question from my research is ‘have the businesses been affected by the recession, if so what were the implications, what did the company do to change its ways and how did their user group change? Did the user group change? Did their behaviour change? Why did they change?

Sources that I will approach for my dissertation are interviews, which are either noted, voice recorded or video recorded. I will be visiting companies and studios to carry out primary         research by asking questions and again noting down pointers. Other resources include  libraries, the Athens account, books, magazines, online articles, newspapers and videos.

 

At present, I cannot find any ethical issues, as I am not fully aware of how this term can be applied, however when conducting my research such as interviews, I will mention ethical issues and I am confident that there will be many ethical issues that will arise throughout my dissertation.

For my dissertation I have chosen to present my topic as a written document, as I find it easier for me to express and explore my opinions and findings to the reader. I agree that if I did present it as a visual, I would be setting myself a challenge, but it is also a challenge to write and express my topic in a written format, attempting to follow guides but also giving the reader signs of my characteristics, such as fun, humour even a bit of sarcasm from myself to you.

Recession is a subject that has been spoken about for many years, even if it is recessions that occurred in the past, or the latest recession in 2008, it has been a topic for me, which has interested me in the way it affects businesses, methods, people mentally, physically and emotionally. What inspired me to this topic as my dissertation was an article from the design week magazine, which mentioned how the design industry survived during the harsh period for other disciplines.

There are many factors as to why many design companies, studios and designers still had good incomes compared to other companies, which made difficult decisions to make cuts on many aspects of the expenses. Not only companies, but also to understand user habits, why and how they change and do they change their buying habits? In my opinion looking at the recession from different aspects will allow me to gain an in-depth understanding to how in future I can act upon such a period and what methods I need to adapt in order to survive.

 

 

Leave a Reply

